New Mills AFC vs Maine Road – Game 18

There really is no story to this match. When planning fixtures for September I highlighted this as a possible game to go to. On Sunday money looked good and still I wasn’t bothered about going. As Monday passed it became clear I had nothing to do on Monday night. After a quite strange and long day at school I decided to go at 4:22 in the afternoon, 3 hours 23 to kick off.

I got in the car at 5:15 and headed back home to Chapel. Here it was a 1 hour race to get things sorted for the game. After a quick change and washing my hair I put my black jacket on, B-Line, £6.00 in change and my phone I ventured upto The New Inn bus stop. The 199 to Manchester Airport which stopped in Newtown.

The journey up to the bus stop took about 5 minutes and I sat and waited. I hadn’t caught a bus in 10 months and that the only one in 3 years since leaving Sheffield. I normally prefer to get the train to games but tonight the bus was easier as the train times are to be honest awful for getting back. I normally complain about 90% of bus drivers and as usual I got on and bought a ticket off Mr Miserable. Having asked for a half return to New Mills he looked at me and said £2.65 much to my disgust, I questioned this and he then wasn’t going to give me a ticket. Once I asked, he said WAIT very loudly and this made me look stupid infront of 10 other passengers. I don’t think he thought I was 15. I took a seat at the back and waited for the bus to set off.

I got to Furness Vale, I asked where was best to get off, he was very grumpy and when I got off Mr Miserable’s bus I felt like giving him a torrent of abuse but being a passionate football supporter I relented. I set off for the ground from Newtown, I had to try and set a time for departing the ground to get back. I quickly found a path leading me to Newtown Station and I walked down the road from there you have to walk all the way down then walk back up the other side! It took about 10 minutes and I reached the top, at the traffic lights darted across the road and straight into Church Lane.

As usual it was £2.50 admission and duly paid it. I knew I would be seeing quality football so really the £5.15 I’d splashed out so far didn’t seem a great amount. I originally was going to stand on the main terrace as I’m not a fan of sitting when I can stand. I took a walk round the ground to waste some time having been limited to two and a half sides last time I came due to flooding at the bottom end.

The ground really is classic and in my opinion one of a kind, the old and new features fit in well together. After a good look round I made my way to the main terrace again where I met up with Paul and we spoke for a bit and walked down to the seated stand on the near side where we stood to watch the first half.

Maine Road started far better, the Number 8 providing great problems for New Mills left back and Maine Road were putting decent balls into the box. Unfortunately for them they weren’t testing New Mills’s keeper and the Millers were getting back into the game. Band eventually scored a quick turn and shot into the far corner and within minutes it was 2-0, Giggs headed the ball over the Maine Road and from there on New Mills looked comfortable.

At half-time I grabbed a Bovril for 60p and stood towards the top goal on the West Side. Carlos Meakin grabbed a 25 yard thunderbolt for 3-0 midway through the half, ruined by a pathetic set of officials with no idea what so ever.

The game went on and on and on eventually at 21:36 the referee blew up for full-time, 6 minutes after he indicated just 3. I set off on a jog back to Newtown, goal tally 64 after 18. I was back in the centre of New Mills within 3 minutes, 17 minutes until the bus and still a hill to climb. I walked most of it getting to Swizzels Mallow at around 9.45 at a quicker pace than I usual walk and after finding that shortcut at Newtown station again I was on the corner at 9.49. I slowly walked round to the bus stop just past the school and sat back and waited for bus trying not to fall asleep.

The bus arrived and I got on and sat near the front, it arrived at around 10:10. I took a quick walk up Church Brow then ran back home within a few minutes. I then went straight to bed, knowing in 24 hours I’d be on my way back from Buxton vs Boston

Tom

0 Responses to “New Mills AFC vs Maine Road – Game 18”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment